Best J-League Betting Sites 2020

Best J-League Betting Sites 2020

This professional league in football in Japan, the J1 League, has existed since the beginning of the 1990s. In Germany she certainly had a little more attention than in other European countries. In addition to the world champions Pierre Littbarski, Uwe Bein and Guido Buchwald, many German coaches also played in this league, not least Littbarski and Buchwald themselves after their time as active players. All games of the J1-League are broadcast on the pay TV station Live Sports , so that you can place a sports bet on every game of the J1-League in Europe and watch the game at the same time. And the J1 League has reached an ever higher level in a playful way, so it’s worthwhile to increase your fun here with a few bets. Below you will find the best sports betting providers from our comparison.

Current compilation of the J-League

In the current 2016 season of the J-League – the league plays in the calendar year – the following field of participants has formed for the J1-League, which consists of 18 teams:

  • Albirex Niigata
  • Avispa Fukuoka
  • Gamba Osaka
  • Jubilo Iwata
  • Kashima Antlers
  • Kashiwa Reysol
  • Kawasaki Frontale
  • Nagoya grampus
  • Omiya Ardija
  • Sagan Tosu
  • Sanfrecce Hiroshima
  • Shonan Bellmare
  • FC Tokyo
  • Urawa Red Diamonds
  • Vegalta Sendai
  • Ventforet Kofu
  • Vissel Kobe
  • Yokohama F. Motors

The three clubs Omiya Ardija, Jubilo Iwata and Avispa Fukuoka thus returned to the first division of Japan, in which they previously played. So all three clubs are not newcomers to the J1 League. The three teams of Matsumoto Yamaga, Shimizu S-Pulse and Montedio Yamagata had relegated before the season or after last season.

However, finding the championship in the J1 League is not quite as easy as in a European league in football with 18 teams. First of all, a regular season is actually completed with a simple home and away game of all teams against each other. This is followed by a championship tournament. So if you finish the regular season first in the table, you are far from being the champions in Japan.

A total of 3 teams then qualify for the championship tournament. However, the first place in the regular season is directly qualified for the final of this tournament. The second and third place winners of the entire season, who initially play a semi-final, determine his final opponent in a simple game. The winner moves into the final, where the champions of the respective season are determined in the second and third leg, so this is also the case in this now 24th season of the J1 League.

Previous champions since the foundation of the J1 League and record champions

The following clubs have so far successfully mastered this somewhat unusual route to the soccer championship in Japan. All champions in the J1 League have been listed since their founding in 1992, after which the first championship decision was made in 1993.

  • 1993 Verdy Kawasaki
  • 1994 Verdy Kawasaki
  • 1995 Yokohama Marinos
  • 1997 Jubilo Iwata
  • 1998 Kashima Antlers
  • 1999 Jubilo Iwata
  • 2000 Kashima Antlers
  • 2001 Kashima Antlers
  • 2002 Jubilo Iwata
  • 2003 Yokohama F. Marinos
  • 2004 Yokohama F. Marinos
  • 2005 Gamba Osaka
  • 2006 Urawa Red Diamonds
  • 2007 Kashima Antlers
  • 2008 Kashima Antlers
  • 2009 Kashima Antlers
  • 2010 Nagoya Grampus
  • 2011 Kashiwa Reysol
  • 2012 Sanfrecce Hiroshima
  • 2013 Sanfrecce Hiroshima
  • 2014 Gamba Osaka
  • 2015 Sanfrecce Hiroshima

The first champion, Verdy Kawasaki, managed to defend his title. Nevertheless, there is quite a large fluctuation in the championship list in soccer in Japan, or better said: mixing. A total of 9 different clubs have been champions in the past 23 seasons. In the Bundesliga there were only 6 different clubs in the last 23 years, and only 4 different clubs in the last 10 seasons. This greater variety is also confirmed when looking at the list of record champions, or the title holder from the J-League.

  1. Kashima Antlers, 7 tracks
  2. Jubilo Iwata, 3 titles
  3. Yokohama F. Marinos, 3 titles
  4. Sanfrecce Hiroshima, 3 tracks
  5. Gamba Osaka, 2 tracks
  6. Tokyo Verdy, 2 tracks
  7. Urawa Red Diamonds, 1 title
  8. Nagoya Grampus, 1 title
  9. Kashiwa Reysol, 1 title

Clear distance for the Kashima Antlers as record champions of the J1 League with a total of 7 titles, but everything is still manageable in terms of the variance and the distances between them.

Other interesting information about the J1 League

In addition to the world champions Littbarski, Bein and Buchwald mentioned above, many other real world stars have already played here, albeit towards the end of their careers. The following names should be mentioned, which enormously upgraded the J1 League at the time:

  • Zico
  • Michael Laudrup
  • Hristo Stoitschkow
  • Gary Lineker
  • Dunga
  • Diego Forlan

In the course of the professionalization of football operations in Japan – precisely due to the introduction of the J1 League (initially only as a J League), the national team of Japan also developed very positively. It was only in 1998 that she qualified for a World Cup for the first time. Since then, however, this has been possible with every further attempt and the last time they were there in Brazil was for the fifth time in a row. Certainly also a consequence of the new level at which the players of the domestic J1 League are regularly challenged in their own country.

The best scorer in the history of the J-League is Yoshito Okubo with 165 goals. However, he is still active, so he could extend his lead over the second-best shooter Hisato Sato with 158 goals, or lose his lead.

Record player in the J-League is Seigo Narazaki, who has been playing in the highest Japanese league since 1995 (!) And is still active. At that time Pierre Littbarski only scored 15 goals in 92 games, but is still revered in Japan as a great football hero.

Conclusion on sports betting in the J1 League

The J1 League is not only interesting for fans of sports betting because of a certain football culture connection between German football and Japan . Here you have an often quite balanced field of participants that is always able to produce surprises. In addition, the games in the J1 League run due to the time difference at times when the rest of the world football is mostly at rest. In this respect, the J1 League offers a great opportunity to close the gaps in the worldwide game schedule, especially for online betting. And soccer is very good in Japan’s top division anyway, where you maintain a very technically skilled football ball.

Scroll to Top