Best Hurling Betting Sites

All-Ireland Senior Football Championship

The All-Ireland Senior Football Championship is the highest level of competition in Gaelic Football, and the most popular sports league in Ireland. Despite its popularity the tournament is strictly amateur, and teams battle for the Sam Maguire Cup rather than for money.

The All-Ireland Senior Football Championship is contested during the summer months. The tournament begins with a series of provincial championships, used to determine which of the 32 participating counties will compete in the All- Ireland Series.

Eight teams eventually secure promotion to the All-Ireland Series, four by winning their provincial championships while four more qualify via the All-Ireland Qualifiers Series. Once eight clubs have qualified for the event, the All-Ireland Senior football championship becomes a knockout tournament, which culminates in the All-Ireland final.

All-Ireland Championship Betting

The popularity of the All-Ireland Championship in Ireland results in the tournament receiving widespread coverage by bookmakers throughout the United Kingdom. Irish bookmakers like Paddy Power and Boylesports provide comprehensive coverage for all All-Ireland Championship matches.

The All-Ireland Championship has traditionally been an open, highly competitive tournament. For this reason betting on outright markets is an attractive option for those who are looking for good All-Ireland Championship betting opportunities. Furthermore, these markets are accessible to punters who are still learning about the game of Gaelic Football.

All-Ireland Championship History

The earliest records of an inter-county game of Gaelic Football date back to 1712, when Louth played Meath. The first structured inter-county tournament played in Ireland was the All-Ireland Championship, which made its debut in 1887.

The original tournament was a knockout tournament, structured along the lines of a football cup tournament like the FA Cup. However, one year later, new rules were introduced, which required participating clubs to play the first portion of the tournament within their own provinces.

For much of its history only the four provincial champions contested the All-Ireland Championship, but this rule was amended in 2001, in order to give a greater number of clubs the opportunity to appear in the series.

Throughout the history of the All-Ireland Championship, the counties of Kerry and Dublin have achieved the greatest success, accounting for over 50 Championship titles between them.

Scroll to Top