Rugby World Cup Betting

Best Rugby World Cup Betting Sites

Betting on the Rugby World Cup

The Rugby World Cup is the perfect event for having a wager on, whether you’re completely new to the world of sports betting or an experienced gambler.

All high street bookies, as well as bookies as the venues themselves, will be offering a wide range of bets on the tournament. However, for the very best selection of betting markets, as well as the best odds and, crucially, the chance to be smart and bet in-play, you should sign up for a special sports betting account. Check out this guide to the biggest and best sports betting sites out there right now and sign up today to take advantage of some fantastic offers, including special World Cup promotions.

Before you put money down on the World Cup, you need to know what you’re doing! For example, you should know how odds work, how you can use in-play betting to your advantage, and all about the many different and varied types of bet you can make on individual matches, as well as on the tournament as a whole. This comprehensive guide to betting on rugby union should help you get off to a winning start if you’re serious about trying to beat the bookies and make a profit.

Some other things to bear in mind before you part with any money include the following:

  • Consider backing the favourites: The Rugby World Cup really is the very pinnacle of the sport. Shocks might happen in the group stages, but are extremely rare once it gets to the business end of the tournament. Here, the big teams almost always dominate, so think twice before betting against the favourites. For 2015, New Zealand are the favourites to lift the trophy, with England, Australia and South Africa also heavily fancied.
  • Pay attention to the details: Before you make a bet, it pays to do your homework. Some teams struggle in bad weather, so check the forecast before you have a flutter. Similarly, you may also want to investigate the referee assigned to a match. Some officials are known for being tough and calling lots of fouls, potentially limiting the number of points that will be scored.
  • Look at recent form: One thing you should definitely check out before you make a bet is recent form. In particular, look at head-to-head form as this is often a good guide as to how a match will pan out. Be wary of placing too much importance on friendlies or matches that happened more than a couple of years ago, however.

All About the Rugby World Cup

The Rugby World Cup is the biggest international rugby union tournament on the planet. Taking place every four years, it brings together the world’s best teams, featuring countries from not just Europe and Australasia, but also from Asia, North and South America.

20 teams will be competing in the competition, with games taking place across 11 different host cities.

The Rugby World Cup will see hundreds of thousands of international rugby fans flock to watch the action and cheer on their home nations. Tickets for all of the group matches have been in high demand, plus the event will attract a global TV audience of millions. As well as being a huge hit with rugby fans, the World Cup is also set to be a busy time for the bookies as punters around the world have a flutter on the action.

Teams and Pools

In all, 20 teams will compete in the World Cup. Of these, 12 qualified for the tournament by finishing in the top three spots of their pools, while the other eight got through to the finals by winning regional competitions. Just like the football World Cup, the event will feature the very best teams in the world, and several nations are in with a realistic chance of lifting the trophy.

The 20 teams will compete in five separate groups, or ‘Pools’. Each pool is effectively a mini-tournament in itself. Teams will play one another just once, with four points awarded for a win, two for a draw and nothing for a defeat. Unlike in soccer, there are also bonus points up for grabs: teams get an extra point if they score four or more tries in a match, while teams that lose by fewer than seven points also get a bonus point, giving everyone an incentive to play exciting, attacking rugby.

Once the round-robin tournament is complete and all the teams have played one another, the top two teams of each pool will qualify for the quarter-finals, with the other three eliminated from the competition.

Scroll to Top